2023-24 Graduate Associate Teaching Award (GATA) Recipients

The Graduate School is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023‐2024 Graduate Associate Teaching Awards (GATA). GATA is the premier award for celebrating excellence in teaching at the graduate level. Recipients of the GATA are nominated by faculty, staff and students through an anonymous nomination process. Each nominee is asked to provide an application packet which is reviewed holistically by the GATA selection committee to evaluate the nominee’s ability to facilitate student learning and to reflect, evaluate, and improve their own teaching

The recipients of the GATA are awarded a one-time $2,000 award for their accomplishments and are honored at the annual Graduate School Awards Ceremony.

Please join us in congratulating the outstanding achievements of this year’s recipients and the programs that support them.

We also wish to congratulate all the nominees this year, as your dedication to teaching is evident and appreciated.

2023-2024 Graduate Associate Teaching Awardees:

Maika Bahr - Department of History of Art

Sarah Beam - Department of Anatomy

Margaret Borders - Department of Environment and Natural Recourses

Samanta Buffa - Department of Italian

Zhaozhe Chen - Department of Earth Sciences

Lucile Dillon - Department of Dance

Marcel Foerster - Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures

Lydia Fyie - Department of Entomology

Tyler Hall - Department of Anatomy

Julia Harth - Department of Arts Administration, Education and Policy

Jamie Herman - Department of Educational Studies

Alex Kempler - Department of Sociology

Alex Lovins - Department of Chemistry

Elise Robbins - Department of English

Amy Schofield - Department of Dance Studies

Joey Smith - Department of Environmental Science

Joe Spurlock - Department of Teaching and Learning

Erica Summerfield - Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership

Amanda Tobin Ripley - Department of Arts Administration, Education and Policy

Gabriela Trigo-McIntyre - Department of Theatre, Film, and Media Arts