You are here

Back to News

The Graduate School Three Minute Thesis selects University Finalist to Compete Regionally

On February 15th, the Graduate School hosted the 2023 Three Minute Thesis competition culminating in the selection of the university wide Three Minute Thesis OSU finalist. The event took place in the Graduate School on the 2nd floor of University Hall and was organized by Assistant Dean of Graduate Development and Engagement, Karin Jordan.


Dean of the Graduate School, Mary Stromberger addressing the 3MT audience.

Dean of the Graduate School, Mary Stromberger addressing audience.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT) is an international competition that started at the University of Queensland. The goal of the 3MT is to prepare graduate students to present their research in a short and concise manner in plane language. As part of the competition, students are asked to present their research in under three minutes using only a single presentation slide. At Ohio State, colleges were asked to select a finalist at the college level to compete for the university level spot that will continue to the Midwest Association of Graduate Schools regional Three Minute Thesis competition. The finalist at the regional competition will proceed to compete at the national level.

The 2023 Three Minute Thesis event featured opening remarks from Mary Stromberger, Dean of the Graduate School and instructional remarks from Assistant Dean Karin Jordan. This year’s panelist included faculty from across the university. Andrew Hedrick is a QI Specialist for Education, Outreach, and Operational Support in Ohio State’s Office of Responsible Research Practices. Noah Weisleder, is Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Department of Physiology and Cell Biology at Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. Mary Beth Arensberg, PhD, RDN, LDN, FAND is director of health policy and programs, Abbott Nutrition, a division of Abbott.  Also, a new addition to this year’s first in-person event was the ability for the audience to engage in an online-based people’s choice selection process which provided an additional award opportunity and audience participation.

3MT panelists Noah and Andrew (Mary not included)   Graduate School Dean and the 3MT participants

3MT panelists Noah and Andrew (Mary not included)  and Graduate School Dean with 3MT participants

The college finalists that competed brought together a wide breadth of research topics from six graduate programs and colleges. The 2023 college level finalist included Adam Bayer from the College of Optometry, Alyssa Bedrosian from the College of Arts and Sciences, Rory Chia-Ching Chien from MCDB, Eric Hobson from the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, Maruf Hossain from the College of Engineering and Mayuri Patel from the College of Pharmacy.

The 2023 OSU Graduate School Three Minute Thesis competition awardees are:

1st Place/University Finalist and People’s Choice, Eric Hobson

2nd Place - Rory Chia-Ching Chien

3rd Place - Alyssa Bedrosian

Eric Hobson – University Finalist and Peoples Choice with his faculty advisors

Eric Hobson, University Finalist/People's Choice with his faculty advisors.

Rory Chia-Ching Chien and Alyssa Bedrosian with Dean Stromberger.

The Graduate School is very proud of all the students that participated in this year’s 3MT and extends a thank you to all the faculty, staff, and students that supported these students in their research and their presentation preparation.  We wish Eric the best of luck as he represents Ohio State at the Midwest Association of Graduate School’s regional competition in Chicago on March 31st. The competition happens on an annual basis each fall and winter. We look forward to seeing the amazing research of graduate students at the Three Minute Thesis competition in 2024.